My wedding dress is not a wedding dress

The idea of writing this blog it came from my own wedding dress research. It’s not that I’m planning to get married soon but if I do I think I know how it will be. I have been living for long time with my partner, I think almost 10 years, we already bought a house together, so I don’t think we will like to do a big serious and traditional ceremony. Also I don’t have the energy to organize everything in detail and expend a fortune to try to make everybody happy. Two years ago, I went to a wedding in Greece, well, it was not exactly a wedding, it was just the dinner and the party. They got married 2 months before that and then they decided to celebrate it later. So, they did the party at Christmas time for the family and closer friends and ……I really liked the idea and it was fun and everybody was sooo  relax! Personally I wouldn’t do it at Christmas time; I prefer Spring-Summer time because it will be close to the sea and maybe on the beach. Just a civil and  simple ceremony and then a big party! with family and closer friends, simple but with a lot of fun and it will last until dawn.  So, what to wear that day? Clearly I am not going to wear a traditional and classic dress, and I hate the idea of buying something super-expensive that it will finish raising mushrooms in the wardrobe. I admire Keira Knightley; she chose for her big day a simple strapless dress combined with flat shoes and a tweed jacket. Ok, the dress is Chanel but still! It was a simple and nice dress that she wore few times before and after her wedding.

vintage_bride_for_ow3__full

She was not the only one, others broke the rules before: Brigitte Bardot married Jacques Charrier in 1959, with Vichy dress designer by Jacques Esterel, not exactly a classic wedding dress for that period. Mia Farrow and Audrey Hepburn also preferred simplicity and follow their personal style. Other example of simplicity was the wedding of Carolyn Bessette-Kennedy with John F Kennedy Jr. She will be always remembered for her minimalist style and her wedding dress designed by Narciso Rodriguez that it is and it will always be my favourite wedding dress. Just simple.   Here, I found some no wedding dresses that they could be your or mine wedding dress.

keira-wedding-main_2554789a image

 wedding6

Manoush

         image Robe-longue-sans-manches-Jasmineimage imageimageimage

Bdba

image image image image imageimage

Sessun

 imageimageimageimageimageimageimage1-sessun-oui-e4d8e15f0c73d19bcf2140d389ffab63

Ba&Sh

188626-01-g188592-01-g739392.129

Hoss Intropia

27188_326_3_7__63559363930430776427494_1_3_7__635615890708237658 28178_1_3_7__63561677678146444427578_1_3_7__635525165768739106

Thoughts? Which one is your favourite?

Leave a Reply

